Sonka soars in Round of 8

Martin Sonka sets the fastest time again...

Sonka heading for the Finish Gate

Martin Sonka showed why his the championship leader with a pristine display in the track. His time of 50.596s was the quickest of the round and enough to see him through to the Final 4. Here's how it all went down... 

Heat 8
Hall vs Brageot
Matt Hall set the early pace with a 51.731s run that put pressure on Mikael Brageot. The Breitling Racing Team pilot was behind after the first split by just 0.030s, but he was wasn't getting any quicker until the second lap when he knew he had to go for it. He pushed and pushed and finished only 0.002s behind Hall – one of the closest finishes in the sport's history!

Heat 9
Muroya vs Chambliss
Yoshihide Muroya put in a time nearly two seconds faster than his Round of 14 run, which put pressure on Kirby Chambliss. Chambliss needed to beat 50.772s for him to advance. Chambliss had flown faster in the earlier round but was unable to beat Muroya's time and lost out by 0.626s.

Heat 10
Kopfstein vs Velarde
Petr Kopfstein looked like he had a fanstastic chance of getting through to the Final 4, but an over-G at the first VTM saw him with a DNF. Juan Velarde only had to fly a clean run to go through to the Final 4. Velarde flew his run cleanly, but conservatively. He'll have to push harder for a podium finish in the Final 4.

Heat 11
McLeod vs Sonka
Pete McLeod set a 50.898s for the championship leader to beat. It was one of the best times McLeod had flown all weekend so nothing more could've been asked of him. All the split times were green and Sonka pushed out his championship rival, to go through to the Final 4.

Round of 8 results