Chiba 2019: Round Of 8 Preview

Six pilots have left the competition. Eight remain

With Martin Sonka out, the World Championship is in the hands of Yoshihide Muroya and Matt Hall. Here’s how they line up for the Round of 8…

Heat 8
Ben Murphy v Pete McLeod

Murphy flew well in the Round of 14 and has to fly first again, but that doesn't seem to concern him. He’ll go out and fly as he did earlier. McLeod set the fastest net time of the Round of 14, but a penalty almost cost him. How that will affect his flying, we’ll find out soon enough. 

Heat 9
Yoshihide Muroya v François Le Vot

Muroya had a nervous wait to see if he was going to make it through as the Fastest Loser, but he made it through and now needs to refocus to improve. Le Vot has been consistent all week and looks to be continuing that trend. If the pressure gets to Muroya it will go to Le Vot. 

Heat 10
Nicolas Ivanoff v Kirby Chambliss

These are the two longest serving pilots in the Red Bull Air Race and it’s almost poetic that they’ll go head-to-head in the final race. Both have outdone themselves so far today and this heat could go either way. 

Heat 11
Mika Brageot v Matt Hall

Brageot will count himself lucky that he has made it this far. His time was slow in the Round of 14 and it was Kopfstein’s mistake that saw Brageot progress in the race. Hall was slick in his Round of 14 flight and it his now his World Championship title to lose!

Chiba 19 Master Class Round of 8 Startlist
Related articles

A Recap Of Race History

A look back over the 14 seasons of the Red Bull Air Race
Read full article