Sonka Clinches 2019 DHL Fastest Lap Trophy

With two DHL Fastest Lap awards, Martin Sonka claims the overall trophy

Martin Sonka was awarded the 2019 DHL Fastest Lap trophy in a special ceremony after Qualifying when he beat rivals Yoshihide Muroya and Mika Brageot to the award. 

Sonka collected the trophy after claiming the DHL Fastest Lap here in Chiba as well as the last round in Lake Balaton. Muroya and Brageot had one win each. Muroya took the Fastest Lap in Abu Dhabi at the season opener and Brageot collected his in Kazan in June. 

When the result was announced, the Red Bull Team Sonka pilot was presented with the DHL Fastest Lap trophy by Charles Kaufmann, President of DHL Global Forwarding Japan.

Upon hearing that he had won, Sonka said: “It’s great to get the DHL Fastest Lap Trophy for the season. I’m just out of my cockpit – hot, exhausted, and thinking about what was wrong in the run and where we can get a little faster – but I’m super happy about this award. It’s perfect!”

Since 2016, the DHL Fastest Lap Award has defined a new standard of speed in the Red Bull Air Race World Championship. At each stop on the calendar, the honour is presented to the pilot who flies the fastest single lap in Qualifying. Then, at the season finale, the DHL Fastest Lap trophy is presented to the pilot with the most awards across the season. 

Previous winners include Matthias Dolderer who took the title in 2016 and 2018. Pete McLeod won it in 2017.


Chiba 2019 Reactions: Master Class Race Day

The pilots speak with emotion after an outstanding season finale

Hall Is The 2019 World Champion

In the most dramatic fashion Matt Hall takes the Red Bull Air Race title

Sonka Out In Chiba

World Champion’s bid to retain his title ends with a knock out in Heat 6.